Return to Headlines

Ritenour High School Media Students Earn 23 State Awards

Ritenour High School’s outstanding journalism students earned 23 awards from the Missouri Interscholastic Press Association during the organization’s state conference at the University of Missouri School of Journalism in March.

RHS students earned six MIPA All-Missouri awards, the organization’s highest honor, in addition to awards in three other levels:

  • Martin Trujillo-Carrazco, Portrait (Pepper Box)
  • Jeff Flanders, Anxiety, News Package
  • Obersy Robles, Smoke Alarm, PSA
  • KRHS Staff, Talk about iGen, Radio/Podcast News Package
  • KRHS Staff, Talk about iGen, Radio/Podcast Overall
  • KRHS Staff 24 Hour Challenge Podcast

Other MIPA awards included:


  • AJ Norman, KRHS Radio Promotion Announcement
  • Dakota Wagster, Who is Trump?, Broadcast/News Feature
  • KRHS Media Staff, 24-Hour Challenge Radio/Podcast Overall
  • Quynh Trinh, News Story (Pepper Box)
  • Chloe Pagan, Cartoon/Infographic (Pepper Box)


  • Kevin Tyler, Marijuana Legalisation, Photography Newscast/News Feature
  • Nature Frost, My Grades, TV Broadcast Commercial
  • Daniela Saenz, Portrait (Pepper Box)
  • Abby Richardson, Cartoon/Infographic (Pepper Box)
  • Amelia Sloan-Ule, Opinion/Editorial/Review (Pepper Box)

Honorable Mention:

  • Pepper Box, Overall Newspaper
  • AJ Norman, Justin Lopez and Ethan Hahn, KSDK Rene Knott Visits KRHS Studio, Broadcast Sports Feature
  • Ethan Dipenbrock, Medical Marijuana in Schools, Radio/Podcast News Package
  • Caroline Wong, Feature Story(Pepper Box)
  • Coralis Bobe, Sports Action Photo (Pepper Box)
  • Jada Baylor, Student Life photo (Pepper Box)
  • Victoria Taylor, Student Life photo (Pepper Box)

Pepper Box