Return to Headlines

Ritenour Staff Get Red Carpet Treatment at 2019 Honors Dinner

The Ritenour School District honored special staff members at the annual Honors Dinner on April 25, 2019 in the Ritenour Auditorium. Honored guests included staff members who earned the Diamond Circle and Make a Difference Awards, as well as 25-year employees and 2019 retirees. Special video tributes were shared as part of the ceremony to celebrate this year’s Diamond Circle honorees, retirees and a fun way to thank 25-year service award recipients.  View photos of the gala by clicking here.

District Honorees Keaton Strong, Shenee McCoy and Jeremy Kane Ritenour is proud to honor Sheneé McCoy, a fifth-grade teacher at Kratz Elementary School, as the 2019 Diamond Circle Teacher of the Year. Keaton Strong, a crisis intervention specialist at Ritenour High School, is the Diamond Circle Employee of the Year. The district also celebrated nine other Diamond Circle teachers, an honor given to teachers who best exemplify the district’s commitment to quality education and service.

Jeremy Kane, a counselor who serves students at both Buder and Marvin elementary schools, was honored as the 2019 Make a Difference Award recipient for his excellence in working with Ritenour students with diverse needs.

Other 2019 Diamond Circle teachers are:

  • Buder Elementary: Laura Grubb, kindergarten
  • Iveland Elementary: Rachael Younge, third grade
  • Marion Elementary: Rachel Thomas, fifth grade
  • Marvin Elementary: Julie Bober, fifth grade
  • Wyland Elementary: Jake Sandman, third grade
  • Hoech Middle School: Jessica Todd, eighth-grade English language arts
  • Ritenour Middle School: Nikki Krbec, eighth-grade English language arts
  • Ritenour High School: Colette Love Hilliard, English language arts
  • International Welcome Center, Deepa Jaswal, English language learning

25-Year Employees

  • Suzanne Burkhalter, Wyland Elementary School
  • Kay Castello, School for Early Childhood Education
  • Donna Coleman, Buder Elementary School
  • Cheryl Garlich, School for Early Childhood Education/Special School District
  • Phyllis Kale, Buder Elementary School
  • Lisa Parr, Ritenour Middle School
  • Terrance L. Peterson, Hoech Middle School
  • Rick Shelton, Ritenour High School
  • Cindy Tucker, Hoech Middle School
  • Jean Weir, Ritenour Middle School
  • Barb Young, School for Early Childhood Education



  • Mita Aziz, Ritenour High School
  • Terry Cates, Wyland Elementary School
  • Christine Cole, Marvin Elementary School
  • Janette Colquitt, Ritenour High School/Special School District
  • Laura Conley, Hoech Middle School
  • John Curran, Maintenance
  • Charlene Ehll, Marion Elementary School
  • John Heeter, Ritenour High School
  • Dezzie Houston, School for Early Childhood Education
  • Phyllis Kale, Buder Elementary School
  • Teresa Knight, Kratz Elementary School
  • Kevin Kulage, Maintenance
  • Catherine Lampshire, Ritenour High School
  • Phyllis Marshall, Hoech Middle School
  • Kimberly McKinney, Administrative Center
  • Lisa Meeks, Iveland Elementary School
  • Ivy Moss, Ritenour Middle School
  • Jerry Nolen, Ritenour High School
  • Jan Parker, Marion Elementary School
  • Patty Poretti, Child Nutrition Services
  • Nancy Powers, Buder Elementary School
  • Harry Rickard, Maintenance
  • Carolyn Schamel, Marion Elementary School
  • Terri Simpson, Hoech Middle School
  • Cynthia Tabscott, Ritenour High School/Special School District
  • Sheila Youngblood, Marvin Elementary School

 2019 Building-Level Diamond Circle Teachers  2019 25-Year Service Award Honorees  2019 Retirees