Return to Headlines

Ritenour Board Recognizes Prop S Committee

Prop S The Ritenour Board of Education recognized members of the Citizens for Ritenour’s Future Committee, which spearheaded the Proposition S campaign last spring. The committee was recognized at an in-person, socially distanced board meeting on Oct. 8 in the Ritenour High School auditorium lobby.

“The committee was the driving force behind helping to pass our Proposition S bond issue on June 2,” said Superintendent Dr. Chris Kilbride.

The $19.5 million zero tax rate change bond issue passed on June 2 with an 80.45 percent Yes vote. The proposal needed a 4.7 majority (57.14 percent) for passage.

The ballot measure originally was scheduled for the April 7 election but due to COVID-19 pandemic, the election was delayed until June.

Kilbride told the committee and the board that he appreciates the citizens group hard work and dedication during an unprecedented ballot measure campaign.

“What makes Ritenour special is the way our community takes pride in supporting our kids, our teachers and our schools,” said Kilbride. “When there’s a need, our community responds.  This committee is one more example of that commitment.”

Jerry Nolen, a retired longtime Ritenour alumnus, educator, administrator and resident, led the citizens committee. Michelle Clover, a longtime resident and executive assistant to the superintendent and Board of Education secretary, was the committee’s treasurer.

Other community members of the committee were: Dr. George Albin, Tara Burleson, Joanie Clarke, Ken Crowder, Melissa Derhake Buttry, Rob Eaton, Dan Maltman, Leiah Latham-Mosley and Rhonda Olson.