Return to Headlines

Ritenour Hall of Fame Classes of 2020 and 2021 to be Inducted on September 24

Four outstanding Ritenour alumni and one Lifetime Achievement Award recipient will be inducted into the Ritenour Hall of Fame during a special ceremony on Friday, Sept. 24 at Ritenour Auditorium. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the induction ceremony for the Hall of Fame class of 2020 was postponed until this year.  

The 2020 and 2021 inductees are:  

  • Dr. Arlene Ackerman, Class of 1964 (posthumous), an award-winning and nationally recognized educator who served as superintendent of the District of Columbia Public Schools, San Francisco Unified School District and the Philadelphia Public Schools. 
  • Dr. Bobby Gines, Class of 1964, an award-winning educator who worked as an administrator in the St. Louis Public Schools, Riverview Gardens School District and districts in the Kansas City area.   
  • Jim Marshall, Class of 1976, a member of the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame who won numerous state championships as a track and field and cross country coach. 
  • Murvell Sellars, Jr., Class of 1980, a nationally-known science fiction author who writes paranormal suspense novels.  
  • Don Thompson (Lifetime Achievement Award - 2021), longtime Ritenour teacher and coach who helped raise thousands of dollars for Ritenour athletic programs. 

Tickets for the Hall of Fame dinner and induction ceremony cost $35 and can be purchased by calling (314) 493-6080.  

The Ritenour Hall of Fame was established in 1997 to honor graduates who have demonstrated outstanding professional accomplishments, civic involvement and community service.The portraits of the Hall of Fame members and Lifetime Achievement Award recipients are proudly displayed in the lobby of the Auditorium at Ritenour High School. View the complete list of past Ritenour Hall of Famers.

Ritenour Hall of Fame/Lifetime Achievement Inductees 2021