Return to Headlines

Ritenour High School’s Student Newspaper Again Earns First Place International Honors

For the third time in the last eleven years, and the second time in the last three years, Ritenour High School’s student newspaper, The Pepper Box, has won the International First Place Award from International Quill and Scroll, a high school journalism honors society. 

This year’s award recognizes the outstanding Pepper Box news content from the 2021-2022 school year. 

The judge’s overall comments reflected the consistency of the Pepper Box, as well as its continued growth over the years. 

The Pepper Box looks like The Pepper Box. It’s unique to other publications and the consistency moves from the coverage and writing to the visuals. The staff works hard to inform their readers on a variety of topics. It’s fun to see this publication each year and see the improvements.”

The Pepper Box adviser Ron Steinschriber was thrilled to see the results and is looking forward to a new school year with more veteran staff members and high expectations. 

“The award was both surprising and expected.  I knew we produced high-quality work last year, but I was a little concerned that our production approach might have hurt us last year,” Steinschriber said. “Instead of eight traditional issues with a special edition or two as we had done in the past, last year we put out three of our traditional issues along with five special editions. This combination allowed us to create early on a smaller scale with the smaller staff and get back to our larger productions later in the year.  It also allowed us to explore a lot of new visual ideas that we were able to incorporate into the traditional newspapers, which ultimately showed up in a higher visual rating.”

Past editions of The Pepper Box can be viewed on Ritenour Live - the student news site of Ritenour High School - at   

Members of the award-winning staff include: 

Editors: Michelle Everett, Chanel Foster, Kaitlyn Hurst, Maricela Nunez, Kaylyn Riggs, Chloe Sapp

Staff Members: Leanna Duncan, Paula De Hipolito Ruiz, Layla Fouche, Caden Gaither, Alexandra Griffin, Caroline Groceman, Danielle Haynes, Jennifer Huerta Lopez, Autumn Jacobsmeyer, Julia Lohnes, Nickolas Martin, Eaja McBroom, Ashton Miller, Kevon Moore, Jacob Nasalroad-Francis, Victoria Pratt, Janiya Scott

The 2021-2022 Pepper Box staff includes:  (front row, l to r) staff advisor Ron Steinschriber, Michelle Everett, Kaylyn Riggs, Kaitlyn Hurst, Chloe Sapp and Chanel Foster; (second row, l to r) Jennifer Huerta Lopez, Maricela Nunez, Layla Fouche, Julia Lohnes and Alexandria Griffin; (third row, l to r) Ashton Miller, Janiya Scott, Autumn Jacobsmeyer and Caroline Groceman; (fourth row, l to r) Jacob Nasalroad Francis, Nick Martin, Eaja McBroom, Victoria Pratt and Danielle Haynes