Return to Headlines

Ritenour High School Media Students Earn 21 State Awards

Ritenour High School’s outstanding journalism students earned 21 awards from the Missouri Press Assocation during the organization’s state conference at the University of Missouri School of Journalism on March 29, 2017. In addition, Jane Bannester, KRHS radio and TV teacher, was honored as the 2017 Journalism Teacher of the Year.

RHS students earned five MIPA All-Missouri awards, the organization’s highest honor, in addition to awards in three other levels: 

All-Missouri Awards:

  • KRHS media staff - Online Social Media Reporting (@KRHS Media)
  • Izzy Clark- Diversity (Broadcast) “Change: It Only Takes One”
  • Calin Hogan - Diversity (Radio/Podcast), “What is Ritenour Made Of?” Equity in Discipline
  • Royalty Knight, KRHS TV News staff -Diversity (Online), “Ritenour Hosts Gateway2Change Summit”
  • Bri Mays, KRHS TV News Staff -Online Op-Ed Package, “Ritenour Students Express their Opinion on 2017-2018 Hybrid Schedule”

All-Missouri Awards

Superior Awards:

  • Gabi Anderson - Radio/Podcast Promo Announcement, “Overland Farmers Market”
  • Cassidy Schatz - Radio/Podcast PSA, “Student ID”

Superior Awards

Excellent Awards

  • KRHS TV News - Overall Broadcast Newsmagazine, 2016-2017
  • Melaureus Staff- Yearbook Package on Girls Volleyball
  • Calin Hogan- Radio/Podcast Overall, “What is Ritenour Made Of” series 
  • Bri Mays -Newspaper Feature Story, “Anxiety”

MIPA Excellent Awards

Honorable Mention Awards:

  • KRHS TV News - Overall Broadcast Announcement with Video
  • Melaureus - Overall Fall Yearbook, 2016
  • The Pepper Box - Overall Newspaper, 2016-2017
  • Izzy Clark - Broadcast Human Interest Feature, “Change: It Only Takes One”
  • Izzy Clark - Diversity (Broadcast), “Change: It Only Takes One”
  • Ethan Diepenbrock - Radio/Podcast PSA, “Texting and Driving”
  • Nathan Owens - Radio/Podcast News Package, “KRHS 411: Homecoming Dress Attire”
  • Demetri Parezo - Radio/Podcast Sports Feature, “Husky Sports Zone - Fall Wrap Up”
  • Brendon Klohr - Broadcast Sports News Story, “Ritenour Winter Sports Preview”
  • Bailey Stock – NewspaperNews Story, “RB Garmon’s Been on a Roll”
  • Jordan Thrasher, Dillon Toeniskoetter and Tristan Talton - Radio/Podcast Overall Newscast
  • Andrea Wanta, Michael Reed-Radio/Podcast Sports Feature, “Coach Talk with Ellen Kim” 
  • Alicia Watson - Newspaper Feature Story, “Fighting for their Rights”

Honorable Mention Awards